Febreze Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Febreze
Shop Fabric Refresher or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh

Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh

Average Customer Rating:
2.571 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Review 1 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Daphys
Location: Aurora, IL

Great for in between washings!

3/18/13
"This smell is just heavenly! I spray this on my sheets almost every day! And every night, its smells like they were freshly washed that day! I usually snap up the top sheet, spray before the top sheet lays on the flat sheet and then I spray both sides of our pillows! The spray in the Downey scent is better than the real thing! I love it!"
Review 2 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Eliminates odors:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Freshens My Space:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: ToAsToAsToAsT
Location: Ohio
Gender: male
Age: 35-44
Has used Febreze for: 2-5 years
Recommends this product for Bedding, Pillows, Blankets, Apparel, Carpet, Curtains, vehicle

**FINALLY!** Downy April Fresh Original is BACK!

8/16/11
"Finally! After a year and a half they actually brought back the ORIGINAL April Fresh Downy Febreze! I had to look twice at the shelf to make sure I was seeing what I thought I was seeing! And sure enough there it was! I sprayed some on my clothes right there in the store and guess what? NO MORE SCENT PEARLS! I was so excited that I actually bought 4 bottles today! And I am going back tomorrow to stock up on some more... before they decide to change it again! (Which I hope they don't!)
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for giving us the Original April Fresh Downy Febreze back! And please DON'T change it again! It's perfect the way it is!"
Review 3 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Eliminates odors:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Freshens My Space:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: COgirl
Location: Arvada,CO
Gender: female
Age: 25-34
Has used Febreze for: over 5 years

What happened?!!!

3/10/11
"I recently purchased 3 bottles of the Febreze Downy April Fresh...I hadn't been able to find it for a while and so I was excited when I finally did. (It's my favorite scent). However, my excitement ended when I sprayed it. It smells horrible-nothing like the way it used to smell. I returned all of the bottles and will not be purchasing it again until it smells like Downy again.
I'm really not sure why the scent has changed, but I just wanted to warn fellow fans of the orginal Downy April Fresh scent that it's not the same!!
"
Response from Febreze:By MonikaFebreze Team3/14/11
There was a slight scent change in the Febreze Fabric Refresher with Downy April Fresh in February 2010. I'll let the rest of the team know you don't care for the new one. Thanks for letting us know.
Review 4 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Eliminates odors:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Freshens My Space:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: luv4downy
Gender: female
Age: 35-44
Has used Febreze for: over 5 years

Please bring back original downy scent!!!

11/12/10
"I recently finished off an old bottle of Febreze Downy April Fresh Scent, which I could not get enough of! It smelled just like the Downy I use in my wash. I sprayed it on almost everything, almost every day. I even recommended it to all my family and friends as I thought it smelled so good. I have been using it ever since it appeared on the shelves and had purchased several bottles of the product and had never been disappointed. However, upon starting with a new bottle just the other day, I was immediately repulsed by the scent. I thought something was wrong with my nose until I found the other reviews on this site and realized I was not the only one who had noticed something different. Something has definitely changed in the formulation for this product. I even went back to the store to see if I had, by chance, gotten a bad batch, but all the new bottles in the store smelled equally repugnant. PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL DOWNY APRIL FRESH SCENT!!! It was HEAVEN! Will not purchase another bottle of this new formula smelling the way it does. It is disgusting and not only does not eliminate odors but adds a horrible new odor to my home :("
Response from Febreze:By MonikaFebreze Team11/16/10
I'm sorry you miss Downy April Fresh scent. While the April Fresh scent in Downy fabric softener did change the Febreze with Downy April Fresh has not changed since it was introduced 7/2009. So you can keep spraying away to get that "heaven scent" you so enjoyed. I'll share your thought with Downy about the change in that product.
Review 5 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Eliminates odors:
2 of 5
2 of 5
Freshens My Space:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: DownyOriginal
Location: Nashville, TN
Gender: female
Age: 45+
Has used Febreze for: 2-5 years

PLEASE bring back the original Downy scent!

10/27/10
"I've never written a product review before, but scents in my home are very important to me, and I'm hoping this review will help make a difference in bringing back a great product. I had been using Febreze with original Downy scent ever since I first saw it in my grocery store. I love the Downy original scent. The last bottle I bought, though, DID NOT smell like Downy...at first I thought it was just my nose, and then it occurred to me that maybe the bottle was mislabeled since it smelled a bit like vanilla. After smelling more bottles at the store, I realized there was definitely a difference in the formulation. Is it because you're going for a stronger scent to last longer (the bottle promised to deliver the scent for 3 days)? A scent is no good to last longer if it isn't pleasant. PLEASE bring back the original formulation--it really smells like you have freshly laundered the room. Thank you for listening!!"
Response from Febreze:By JennyFebreze Team10/28/10
I am sorry you were disappointed in the scent of your most recent purchase of the Febreze Fabric Refresher Downy scent. This product scent was first introduced in 2009. At this point there have been no changes to the scent for this version. I am passing your comments along to the Febreze Team. I hope you will give the product another try!
Review 6 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Eliminates odors:
3 of 5
3 of 5
Freshens My Space:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Binab
Location: North Texas
Gender: female
Age: 35-44
Has used Febreze for: over 5 years
Recommends this product for none it's awful!

Please bring back the original!

9/19/10
"I have to echo the sentiments of the other reviewers. I LOVE the original Downy April Fresh Febreeze and this change is definitely for the worse! It's very harsh and smells nothing like the original Downy.
I bought a new bottle just before hosting a baby shower at my home. I didn't realize it had changed until after I'd had my daughter spray the entire house. It was awful - the mommy to be complained of the smell and unfortunately it works so well that it lingers for hours. I was horribly embarrassed and there was nothing I could do. Please, PLEASE bring back the original Downy formula!"
Response from Febreze:By RoseConsumer Care Team9/22/10
I'm so sorry to hear you dislike the scent of Febreze Fabric Refresher with Downy Scents. We wanted you to have a fragrance experience that reminds you of freshly washed sheets! The Febreze Gain and Downy scent fabric refresher products do not actually contain the fabric softening/detergent properties, so while you can expect a similar scent, it won't be exactly the same. We value your feedback, and please pass along my congratulations!
Review 7 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
3 of 5
3 of 5
Eliminates odors:
3 of 5
3 of 5
Freshens My Space:
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by: bringbackrealdownyscent
Location: NC
Gender: female
Age: 35-44
Has used Febreze for: 6-12 months
Recommends this product for Bedding, Pillows, Blankets, Dog Bed, Apparel, Carpet, Furniture, Curtains

What has happened to the April Fresh?

7/15/10
"For months I have been buying the fabric refresher with April Fresh Downy but for the past couple of months it's smells terrible! What has happened? Sometimes I get the "right" scent, but when I don't it goes right back to the store. It's a most unpleasant scent. Please please bring back the original April Fresh Downy scent or I'm going to have to stop buying."
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ToAsToAsT
South Central Ohio
The *new* April Fresh Downy is TERRIBLE!
Posted 9/29/10
I agree! The *new* April Fresh Downy smells like coconut or something! It's TERRIBLE! I won't buy another bottle until they BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: zourah

Bring back original scent

6/3/10
"I absolutely LOVED the Downy April Fresh Febreze when it first came out. However, the new formula does not even smell like Downy April Fresh. (It actually smells very bad--I thought it was a production error.) I hope they bring back the original formula which smells so clean and fresh. I will not purchase any of the new formula. As a matter of fact when I find a store that still has the old formula I buy every bottle they have!"
Review 9 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Eliminates odors:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Freshens My Space:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: DOWNYFREAK
Location: Dallas, GA
Gender: female
Age: 45+
Has used Febreze for: 1-2 years
Recommends this product for Bedding, Pillows, Blankets, Dog Bed, Furniture, Carpet, Curtains

BEST SCENT EVER !!!!!

5/31/10
"The Downy scented Febreze smells exactly like Downy. This is my favorite scent in the whole world. I just wish it was made in the room spray form as well. I would use at least a bottle a week."
Review 10 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Fussfry

New Downy Scent

4/30/10
"I LOVED the scent when it first came out -bought another bottle and noticed the scent changed. It is way too strong for the average house and find that I use less of it. I even bought a second bottle thinking what I had was a bad batch but was wrong. I will be pouring these out and finding a new product-very disapointed bc I loved the origional Downy scent"
Review 11 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Seattle

They changed the scent! 1/5!

4/27/10
"I love the original Downy scent, and was unhappy to switch to another when I could no longer find this product. Last night I finally found it again, and excitedly bought two bottles. But as soon as I started using the product, I knew something was off. The scent has been changed. I'll be emptying both bottles in my sink tonight, because I find this new scent so unpleasant. Consumers: test it in the store before you buy it! And Febreze: bring back the original Downy scent!"
Review 12 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Eliminates odors:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Freshens My Space:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: downydoodle
Has used Febreze for: 2-5 years
Recommends this product for Bedding, Pillows, Blankets, Carpet, Curtains

AAAH BEST THING EVER

4/8/10
"It's one of the most calming scents and quickly becoming a favorite."
Review 13 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Eliminates odors:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Freshens My Space:
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Kelly
Gender: female
Age: 35-44
Has used Febreze for: less than a month
Recommends this product for Furniture, Curtains

New scent

4/2/10
"I just have to ask, What happened to the original scent. I used to love that smell...now it smells too industrial. Just my 2 cents maybe someone else has the same opinion."
Review 14 for Fabric Refresher: Downy® April Fresh
Overall:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Eliminates odors:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Freshens My Space:
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: JBx2
Location: WV
Gender: female
Age: 25-34
Has used Febreze for: over 5 years
Recommends this product for Bedding, Pillows, Blankets, Dog Bed, Furniture, Carpet, Curtains, stuffed animals, throw rugs

Love it!

3/23/10
"I have used Febreze for years, and have tried just about all the scents. This is my new favorite! I love the Downy April Fresh scent. I used it and it smells just clean, like laundry. The scent is immediate, not too strong and lasts for DAYS. I would definately buy this in the Noticables too, if it were ever made!"